Larkin Grimm - Parplar [2008]

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

1. They Were Wrong
2. Ride That Cyclone
3. Blond And Golden Johns
4. Dominican Rum
5. Parplar
6. Durge
7. Be My Host
8. Mino Minou
9. My Justine
10. Anger In Your Liver
11. All The Pleasures In The World
12. Fall On My Knees
13. How To Catch A Lizard
14. The Dip
15. Hope Of The Hopeless

Parplar is the Young God debut from the fabulous itinerant force of nature Larkin Grimm. She’s got an elemental voice that comes from somewhere under the earth. She alternately moans like a woman-in-full, wails like a banshee, or coos like a crazed little girl, depending on her mood. Parplar was co-produced by Michael Gira (Devendra Banhart, Akron/Family, Angels Of Light, Swans) and Larkin Grimm. It was recorded at Old Soul Studio in Catskill NY, with additional recording at Seizure’s Palace in Brooklyn and mixed at Trout Recording, Brooklyn. Larkin’s risen to the occasion on this one – really found herself as a singer, and it features absolutely stellar vocal performances of songs that are sometimes soulful, whimsical, sensual or bizarre. The production is as varied and unpredictable as Larkin herself.