James Blackshaw - Litany Of Echoes [2008]

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

1 Gate Of Ivory (5:20)
2 Past Has Not Passed (12:38)
3 Echo And Abyss (12:10)
4 Infinite Circle (5:54)
5 Shroud (11:44)
6 Gate Of Horn (5:21)

James Blackshaw's previous albums featured his John Fahey-inspired guitar playing, but much like Fahey himself, Blackshaw is not the sort of performer who enjoys being tagged with a single identification. So LITANY OF ECHOES downplays Blackshaw's sterling guitar work to include lengthy tracks composed and performed on piano and violin, as well as an increased use of subtle effects to enhance the hypnotic drone effects of songs like the alternately lulling and unsettling 13-minute epic "Past Has Not Passed."



VBR - V1

The Owl Service - A Garland of Song [2008]

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

1 A Garland Of Song (Folk Revival) (2:13)
2 Child Ballad No.49 (Or The Rolling Of The Stones) (2:59)
3 Hoodening (2:10)
4 The North Country Maid (2:39)
5 Katie Cruel (3:21)
6 The Lammas (1:46)
7 Oxford City (Or The Jealous Lover) (2:55)
8 Turpin Hero (4:09)
9 The Dorset Hanging Oak (6:33)
10 Apple Tree Man (3:08)
11 Child Ballad No.219 (The Gardener Child) (5:16)
12 Corn Dollies (1:26)
13 Flanders Shore (4:44)

The Owl Service was formed by Steven Collins on 6th June 2006 as a vehicle to explore his love of British films and television of the 1960s and 70s, the great outdoors and the sound of the English folk revival.

A Garland Of Song was recorded and mixed almost entirely at home, with a group of like-minded collaborators, between December 2006 and June 2007; it fuses traditional British folk ballads with elements of psychedelic rock, occasionally bordering on a doom-laden garage sound, and is interspersed with Steven's original instrumental compositions. It recalls the great acid-folk bands of the late '60s/early '70s but never once sounds contrived or overtly retro - nobody has approached trad folk quite like this for over 30 years.



192 kbps

Loreena Mckennitt - An Ancient Muse (2006)

Friday, December 12, 2008

Something a bit different this time, an amalgamation of new age and world music styles with of course, a folk leaning. Incredible album, this.

“Tell me, O Muse, of those who travelled far and wide”

Aptly, it is an echo of Homer’s timeless Odyssey that introduces Loreena McKennitt’s seventh studio recording, the latest volume of a project she describes as “musical travel writing”. This time, the journey takes her in search of the Celts’ easternmost paths, from the plains of Mongolia to the kingdom of King Midas and the Byzantine Empire. Along the way, she muses on the concepts of home, of travel in all its incarnations, of the cultural intermingling that underpins human history and our universal legacies of conflict and hope. - quinlanroad.com

Label - Quinlan Road


1 Incantation
2 The Gates of Istanbul
3 Caravanserai
4 The English Ladye and the Knight
5 Kecharitomene
6 Penelope's Song
7 Sacred Shabbat
8 Beneath A Phrygian Sky
9 Never-ending Road (Amhrán Duit)

Grab the CD here.

Bitrate - V2

Click here

Marissa Nadler - Four Track Recordings, Outtakes [2005]

Thursday, December 11, 2008

01 - Flora Barone Queen of the Vaudeville Throne [4:41]
02 - Box of Cedar [4:19]
03 - Famous Song [4:06]
04 - Annabelle Lee [5:13]
05 - Black Hole Infinity [1:24]
06 - Chelsea Hotel #2 [2:23]
07 - Ashes [2:24]
08 - Days of the Dead [1:10]
09 - Strange [1:53]
10 - Battle Hymn of the Republic [1:51]
11 - As I Lay in Death My Son [4:32]
12 - Lily, Henry, and the Willow Trees [3:34]


320 kbps