Espen Jørgensen - On the Great Alkali Plains (2006)

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

I have posted this elsewhere in the past, however it's something I also think our readers here will appreciate. Espen Jørgensen is a Norwegian acoustic/classical/new age guitarist, this is his first and so far only solo release to date. This is one of my very favourite releases, this guy is an incredibly talented and highly overlooked musician. I'm not going to bother quoting any reviews or press releases or whatever, what you really need to do is let your ears give this their undivided attention, and afterwards show your appreciation by buying a copy of the CD (which comes in a very beautiful digipak).

Label: Jester Records


1 The Immaculate Conception
2 Move Ahead - Quickly
3 Mirabell
4 Down From The High Peak
5 Barren
6 The Woods
7 Farbror Melkers Bekymring
8 Himmelsangen

Buy CD -



Coreopsis said...

This album is so good. Didn't he play on some of the earlier Ulver albums as well?
Thanks for the good work!

Witheringvisions said...

Yeah he played on a few tracks on Shadows of the Sun. Not sure about any others. Glad you like the album. He's currently working on a new release so look out for that.